When it comes to removing contacts and adhering to GDPR, deleting contacts from your database isn’t always enough.
In fact, deleted contacts can still get emails sent from your Outlook. Here’s how…
We recently heard from a client who accidentally sent an email to someone who should have been removed from their database. As far as our client knew, they had been removed. Understandably, the contact was upset and our client could not understand how this came to be.
After a brief review, we could see that our client really had removed the contact’s details. So what went wrong?
The likely answer is that the email address was still stored in Outlook! Their Auto Complete List feature saves the email addresses of people that you have emailed in the past. Even if they are no longer in your address book. This means that our client could have accidentally selected this contact instead of someone else. Their details were still in their Outlook.
If you would like to prevent this from happening to you, there are 2 things you can do.
- Delete, when you delete a contact from your database, go onto Outlook and delete them there too.
- Clear your Outlook Auto Complete list. However, this would mean that you would have to enter each email address in full, over and over. For regular contacts as well.
Here is information about this Outlook feature to enable you to make the best decision.